Aegyo and Apink

Aegyo… First, I should probably tell you what it is. I looked it up in the urban dictionary and this is what it had to say:


 

 1. Aegyo

A korean word that derives from the Chinese characters “love (ae)” and “beautiful (gyo).” The closest English translation of aegyo would be “winsome,” defined by the Merriam Webster Dictionary as “generally pleasing and engaging often because of a childlike charm and innocence.” Not surprisingly, aegyo is considered a feminine trait, generally attributed to women who can charm men and elders through a careful balance of sweetness, cuteness, poutiness, modesty, thoughtfulness, and submissiveness. A woman with aegyo knows to blush at dirty jokes rather than guffaw along with her mouth agape. A woman with aegyo knows to let out a modest and appealing squeal and grab tight her date’s hand when watching a horror movie.


 

What they are describing is more of a natural aegyo, a sweet little girl that naturally is like this. That kind of aegyo I have no problem with.

 HOWEVER

When talking about aegyo in KPOP it is something completely different. It is a bunch of teenagers in their late teens who constantly wink and point and make faces like this:

 Image

The picture above is a girl named Jung Eun-Ji. Believe it or not she is 20 years old. She is part of a group named Apink who constantly are making faces like that and smiling and being cutesy.

All. The. Time.

For example I have posted a link to one of Apink’s music videos below. Just don’t say I didn’t warn you. Aegyo overdoses have been known to happen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n3XJQtJWKJM

7 thoughts on “Aegyo and Apink

    • Ah, god, I think I just died a little inside. Lol, I was wondering why I had never heard of them! I don’t listen to Jpop all that much, I much prefer Kpop though I do make occasinal exceptions for Do as infinity and Namie Amuro.

      • For the New Years Live event, they were all in white vest corsets, and rainbow tutus. All 62 of them (there’s only supposed to be 48 of them, but hey, why not! Also, one of them is completely computer-generated and no one knew. :P)

        I love Do As Infinity and Amuro. I also like The Pillows (later stuff), and Bonnie Pink. 🙂

  1. Pingback: C is for CL | alexandrawhalen

Talk to me!

