C is for CL

CL aka The Baddest Female. Yes, she really goes by that moniker and I love her.

 

 Image

 

CL is the leader of my all time favorite group 2NE1. They debuted in 2009 and from the start they had a much different vibe from most groups. Even groups that aren’t ageyo (which I described here) they still have a very girly image, very sweet and sexy. 2NE1 has never tried to give that image. Even with their first single they showed a… “badassery” if you will that is amazing in its authenticity. It doesn’t feel like they are playing a role at all, and CL is the baddest of them all.

When 2NE1 first came out I was torn between CL and Minzy. I still really like Minzy. She is a great dancer and her voice has a pure quality that is quite pretty. But CL clearly defined herself as my eternal bias when she performed by herself in 2012 at Nolza in Japan. I have copied a link to the performance below.

CL-Live at Nolza

To me she is like an Asian Nicki Minaj with a less foul mouth that can sing better. We didn’t really see much more of CL as a solo artist until a year later when she came out with her first single. The title was… The Baddest Female. To be honest I didn’t really like it at first. But out of loyalty I bought it and it grew on me until I played it over and over again. Now I can sing along with the chorus and parts of versus even though I don’t speak Korean. It probably is really gibberish but it sounds about the same to me!

CL- The Baddest Female MV

After 2ne1’s newest full album that came out in February I respect her even more. Most Kpop idols have absolutely no hand in the music they sing. They are great performers but not great artists. CL wrote 5 of the songs out of their new album. Here is a live version out of CL’s new solo MTBD (mental breakdown) which she helped write the lyrics for.

CL- MTBD Live

Check out her performences for me. Do you like her? Not like her? Which was your favorite? Let me know!

5 thoughts on “C is for CL

      • Ahhhh, that would do it, haha. I teach some of those kids. Their English is amazing, even when they’re only 4 or 5!

        I do try as much as possible to like genres other than my usual… it’s all a part of experimentation. 😉

Talk to me!

